Skip to content

09/05/13 – On the home straight.

May 9, 2013

So this week I have been wrapping up my final year of university (very scary – now I have to be a proper adult and get a job!) and these are the songs that have been getting me through this week and my final pieces of work.

Comment below and let me know what you have been listening to this week – I’d love to know!

1. Pet Shop Boys – West End Girls

LOVE THIS. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I can’t help but do the bass line “badow badow” and sing it out loud when I hear this song.

 

2. Dire Straights – Sultans of Swing

The guitar riff in this is just so iconic and is one of the very few songs I will bring out the air guitar for! One of my Dad’s claims to fame is that pre-Dire Straights, Mark Knopfler was a guitar teacher at his high school and used to occasionally borrow my Dad’s guitar for lessons. I have used this guitar once, although I have to admit, just because the great Mark Knopfler played it, none of his magic rubbed off onto me… I was, and still am rubbish.

 

3. Tom Jones – Delilah

I saw Sir Tom at V Festival last summer and he was incredible. For a man of his age (Sorry Sir Tom!) and to still have such power, tone and clarity in his voice is a real rarity! I’ve chosen this flamenco version because this is the version he played at V, and I personally prefer it to the original. What do you think?

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Carol Chesher permalink
    May 10, 2013 9:21 AM

    No doubt….Tom Jones still has it! Love that version. And yes its true Mark Knopfler did teach your uncle to play guitar and used to borrow your dads one for the lessons. Wonder if he remembers!

Leave a Reply

